Reviews

Read Reviews (140)
(
4.47/5
) based on
140
reviews.

by Renato Lopes on May 2 2017 15:16

We had a very good time at the hotel, thanks for everything.
 
 
 
 
 

by john berry on May 1 2017 12:10

Brilliant hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Mary mcloughlin on Apr 29 2017 10:33

Good breakfast, appreciated having an Americanism coffee. Fruit selection excellent. Room is a bit dated decor wise but lobby is lovely so I presume upgrade for rooms coming. Very nice staff, good location and parking overnight very cheap
 
 
 
 
 

by Audrey on Apr 24 2017 07:15

Fabulous Hotel.Really friendly staff ,from the girls on reception, the staff in the restaurant and bar,all so helpful and nice. We had food both nights in the restaurant and the quality was exceptional. Can highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be coming back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ellie on Apr 23 2017 18:03

Guys, you didn't understand the circumstances of us booking a two night escape with our three little but every single person was so kind to us it was like you knew. We are so thankful for everyone's smiles and kindness and help from arriving early to the pool to just every moment. Thank you. Please tell your staff they really blessed us. It was so good for our weary souls
 
 
 
 
 

by Kelly on Apr 20 2017 08:18

Lovely hotel....staff very pleasant.....was accompanied on the trip by my 5 year old daughter who loved the kiddies club! Ate in the bar....good food but expensive for "bar food". Its a pity the hotel doesn't have a car park. Overall enjoyed the trip!
 
 
 
 
 

by Tanya Rooney on Apr 19 2017 11:48

We recently stayed at the hotel in the presidential suite, which was top class, was an experience.. From check in until departure we could not have faulted a thing. Food in Kellys Steakhouse was also superb as well as the breakfast. Will deffo be making a return to the hotel. Tanya
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer32761623 on Apr 18 2017 07:17

We just had a wonderful 4 night stay in the Portloaise Heritage hotel. The staff were all amazing throughout our stay & we were very impressed with all the renovations throughout the hotel. We mostly ate at the hotel too & each meal was delicious including breakfast which is served to your table so a nice little treat. Keep up the good work we will definitely return.
 
 
 
 
 

by Agnes Kenny on Apr 17 2017 10:23

Had a brilliant stay, all the staff were so helpful from Stacey in reception to the bar/ service staff and the restaraunt manager and his staff couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Martin on Apr 16 2017 08:08

We stayed for the Easter break on a family package. Our initial room was a little bit basic and the toilet leaked. We spoke to the cleaning department and we were moved to the 1st floor with adjoining rooms which were refurbished and excellent. The restaurant meal was good and the breakfast is first class. We used the pool daily and enjoyed the local pubs in Portlaoise. The staff are very engaging and efficient. We stayed here because of the excellent accessibility to the Irish rail network. In 4 days we visited Dublin, Limerick and Cork. I would thoroughly recommend the HEritage Hotel for family breaks.
 
 
 
 
 

by Stephen Callaghan on Apr 15 2017 11:57

Fantastic hotel with beautiful staff Have to give a big mention to Collete in reception who was most helpful and very friendly Will definitely be returning Also a big thank you to michaella and Sophie for looking after the kids brilliantly in the kids club
 
 
 
 
 

by Curtis on Apr 10 2017 09:14

extremely courteous staff, front desk to lounge. Nice menu selection of food and cocktails. Room was above parr.
 
 
 
 
 

by Catherine on Apr 8 2017 22:31

Thank you for my stay which we found very enjoyable. Rooms nice size & spotless. Staff very friendly & efficient. Service was great. I will be back again as it was not my first time to stay & wont be my last. Keep up the good work.
 
 
 
 
 

by jackie on Apr 3 2017 09:39

Everything was perfect from start to finish..would find it hard to fault it in any way
 
 
 
 
 

by Sue Newth-Gibbs on Mar 31 2017 09:58

Our first visit since refurbishment and we really enjoyed it. Restaurant and bar area very welcoming and staff excellent as usual.
 
 
 
 
 

by anthony on Mar 25 2017 15:50

Great time at the Heritage rooms were great pool and faciltes excellent . bar is great addition to the hotel check in staff very frendly and helpfull the whole hotel is totally revamped . will stay again when in portloaise
 
 
 
 
 

by Martin Russell on Mar 22 2017 19:52

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Laois. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a very welcoming atmosphere from the moment we arrived, the receptionist, Collette, was fantastic at her job, very professional. But also very friendly and bubbly. The restaurant and food was lovely. We will definitely return in the future.
 
 
 
 
 

by Aaron Grehan on Mar 21 2017 11:43

Me and my mam had a brilliant stay in the hotel for 2 nights. The staff were brilliant. The food was delicious. 10/10 for the stay. Will be back soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by sharon byrne on Mar 21 2017 08:07

i have to say first the girls on the front desk were great and friendly as i had a problem when booking on line these girls sorted it. the rooms are fab and clean and i can say enough about the food sooo good especially the full irish breakfast . this hotel has the nicest staff i have every seen . thank you for a lovely stay
 
 
 
 
 

by Catherine Axtell on Mar 20 2017 19:19

Great place to stay , perhaps a games room for bored teenagers please
 
 
 
 
 

by John agnew on Mar 20 2017 15:27

We arrived a little before check in time and luckily our room was ready to rock . We didn't avail of the restaurant for food due to us meeting friends for a party in the town . Our nights sleep was very good not a peep from any noise around . Breakfast was 10 / 10 as well we got it sent to the room and had everything we had asked for and piping hot . We did avail of the swimming pool as well and found it perfect temp with not much corlein in the pool either !! All in all an amazing nights stay and will be back !
 
 
 
 
 

by Siobhan on Mar 19 2017 08:39

Lovely stay. Helpful staff. Really enjoyable 5 Star rating
 
 
 
 
 

by Trisha on Feb 22 2017 20:41

Stayed for the weekend with 5 friends in this beautiful hotel. The hotel is in a great location. We had two triple rooms which were very spacious and great value..The staff are all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and we also had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was very reasonable and the food was delicious. Will definitely be returning and have already started to recommend to family and friends.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sinead on Feb 21 2017 19:44

Just back from a weekend away at The Hertiage Portlaois and it was fabulous. Hotel is in the centre of everything,lovely and spotlessly clean and bedrooms are so comfortable. Most of all the staff where so friendly and helpful. Definitely will be back
 
 
 
 
 

by John Curtin on Feb 18 2017 16:42

Lovely Hotel and Experience. Brilliant restaurant across the road. Would be wonderful(essential) if parking was included even for one night. Customers might not even mind a little extra cost if built in to overall rate. We chose to go because of special offer of €75 but would have done so also for €79! Best Wishes John and Emily Curtin Limerick.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ursula o Donnell on Feb 9 2017 06:35

Have stayed here a good few times keep going back because of the excellent service and value for money .the staff are so friendly and helpful .food and accomadition top class
 
 
 
 
 

by Cardiff on Jan 5 2017 11:33

I booked and overnight in the hotel for the 28th December 2016. There were six of us and I had bought ours as part of a Christmas gift for my boyfriend who was over from Wales for the Holidays. I was so disappointed on arrival to realise the hotel was under renovation. I would never have booked it had a known this in advance.There was no mention of this on your website nor when I rang to upgrade my room to a suite. The hotel itself is beautiful and the food is fantastic it was such a shame we had to leave the hotel for entertainment. It was also under staffed and while the staff who were there were lovely there was excessive waiting times at the bar for both food and drink. We actually had to leave the hotel on arrival to go for something to eat as there were no free tables in the small area the food was being served. Having said all this our overall stay was pleasant and I have no doubt that when the renovations are complete it will be a great place to stay. Regards Linda
 
 
 
 
 

by Patricia on Dec 19 2016 17:59

Lovely hotel in a central location. Staff were professional and very friendly. Good facilities - nice pool and gym. The restaurant menu was limited but what we got was very nice. We tried to get into the SteakHouse Restaurant but it was fully booked. The hotel is being renovated at the moment. We stayed in a renovated room - which was very nice. The renovation work disturbed our morning (8.30am) with extremely loud drilling in what seemed like the room next door. Management were very apologetic and compensated us for the inconvenience. We were attending an event there and would definitely return again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Michael Gorman on Dec 17 2016 13:37

Second time to stay there in the last year and everything is excellent from the staff to the rooms and the overall experience..
 
 
 
 
 

by Caza on Nov 22 2016 10:59

Excellent stay with a superb dinner in Kelly's next door. Leisure center was closed for renovations but apart from that it was a top stay with very friendly staff!
 
 
 
 
 

by Maura on Nov 14 2016 22:03

Brilliant stay for the week. Spotlessly clean, warm, friendly inviting and quiet hotel. Friendly efficient helpful staff, Lovely bar food and breakfasts. Great facilities. Very convenient for travelling out to Kildare, Newbridge and Dublin. Would definitely stay there again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne Kelly on Nov 8 2016 12:53

Loved stay at this hotel Daughter got it for dads 60th birthday STaff very friendly and helpful .beautiful spaceous rooms steakhouse ajoining hotel class. Close to all pubs and resteraunts 2 mins walk. drove to slive bloom mountains fab .Will defenitly be back to this hotel Oh Peigs bar brill crack!
 
 
 
 
 

by Elaine Oughton on Nov 7 2016 13:41

Staff were very pleasant throughout the hotel and made our stay very good. We had a triple room and a twin room booked...the triple room was really well decorated as it had been redecorated I believe as part of the renovations. The only issue with this room was that it was really really hot, and the radiators were not on..so we could not figure out how to cool it down. The twin room was not refurbished and the girls who stayed there said it was freezing. Apart from the temperature issues, we had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Seamus Bacon on Nov 4 2016 14:07

Having stayed a number of times before it's great to see the renovations being carried out. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was fantastic. We are sorry to see Spago's has been closed but a new bar is badly needed. Our only complaint is that there is no warning about the work being carried out in the hotel. We found the noise very intrusive and nearly ruined our first afternoon. We will be checking before booing again. As usual the staff are amazing. Extremely helpful and friendly.
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne Kelly on Nov 2 2016 18:33

Hi my children booked this Hotel for my husbands 60th birthday Omg it was amazing from start to finish 2 other couples stayed as well for celebrations they also loved it .Staff very friendly Beautiful rooms so comfy and big .Food beautiful and steak house belong to hotel amazing Cant fault this hotel in any way right beside bars restraunts and shopping center train station close by .Fab! 5 stars
 
 
 
 
 

by Fiona Benzies on Nov 1 2016 14:05

we had a great weekend, the room was big and spacious, the food was excellent especially the Steak House Restaurant so good and the staff were very friendly overall a great weekend and great value will be back
 
 
 
 
 

by Helena Francis on Oct 25 2016 21:34

We really enjoyed our stay, loved the improvements and the new colour sheme and when everything comes together I'm sure the hotel will attract lots of new visitors. Just one minor issue, the main TV stations RTE 1&2 were not available to us and I'm sure that's easily sorted. Overall the hotel is looking well and has a welcoming athmosphere. Regards.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jackelyn on Oct 24 2016 10:36

We stayed in one of the renovated rooms (131) - The room was lovely, couldn't fault it. We got dinner included in our package, it was just OK.
 
 
 
 
 

by Steve kilsby on Oct 19 2016 21:22

Had a fabulous stay and your Hotel is certainly value for money. I accidentally left a ok behind after checking out and when I contacted your Hotel the lady I spoke with checked lost property and located my notebook and I think she may have gone out of her way to post it to my new hotel in Belfast so that it would reachmeintime before we left for Scotland. I would like to thank her very much. The room was great and breakfast was lovely and we had dinner one night that was delicious. Thank you for a very lovely stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Pauline on Oct 9 2016 21:07

Fantastic hotel, staff very helpful & friendly, would differently recommend
 
 
 
 
 

by DMcC on Sep 20 2016 18:31

Great service on arrival and car park right next to the hotel. Looks like place has been recently refurbed and rooms are very good, and also very clean. Also had dinner in the newly opened Kellys Steak house across the street and it was brilliant. Overall very good experience and would stay again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul McGrath on Sep 18 2016 08:14

We have now stayed here twice, once in 2014 and now August 2016, great hotel, excellentvrooms and fantastic staff, recommend to everyone
 
 
 
 
 

by Anne from Meath on Aug 22 2016 19:55

I had two lovely nights in your hotel. The staff were very friendly . I had one evening meal included in my package and the food was really lovely I had my other meal in your bar and it was also lovely. I would come again to stay there really enjoyed it Anne from Meath .
 
 
 
 
 

by Carmen on Aug 18 2016 16:06

Portlaoise is grand country town and the heritage is right in the centre of it. The hotel was easy to find and the carpark, which is adjacent, posed problem free. The hotel itself is being renovated and is clean and bright, if a little thematic for our tastes (think Grecian painted-on columns). The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and this is 90% of hospitality for me. The room was clean and spacious and the pool is excellent. Suggested improvements: extend the 6.30pm pool closure for kids, refurbish the pool changing areas, give a little more thought to the food - it was fine but we make much better at home (I had the salmon. Salmon gorgeous, pasta soggy. And ultimately a very dull dish. The same ingredients could be used to create a much more enjoyable dish... but I get constraints - the price of our stay was hard to beat - absolutely brilliant - so not everything is going to be perfect. I'D HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE HERITAGE!
 
 
 
 
 

by Ger on Aug 17 2016 22:43

As I was in Kildare doing a charity cycle I found ur. hotel very refreshing and the swimming pool was what the doctor ordered. Tks
 
 
 
 
 

by Martina on Aug 17 2016 13:45

Very helpful staff on arrival, beautiful redecorated room, exceptionally comfy bed and food was good in the italian restaurant. Loved our stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by L Daly on Aug 16 2016 09:55

Fabulous hotel, triple room very spacious and nice and quiet! Bar could do with a bit of a facelift though! Staff very friendly and welcoming, would definitely return for another visit.
 
 
 
 
 

by Jacci on Aug 9 2016 09:10

We really enjoyed our stay in your hotel. There were 5 of us so we stayed on the 2nd Floor, room 223 and 224. The decor in the rooms was fabulous and rooms were very spacious. The only issue we had was that the rooms were extremely warm. The windows only opened a small amount and did not provide enough air in a room that contained 3 people (room 224). We attended the spa on the saturday morning and we really enjoyed the massage and facials. The only downside to the spa was that the leisure centre and spa were not connected. We normally book spa weekends on that basis as in being able to walk around the spa and leisure area in dressing gowns and slippers. Maybe something you could invest in, for your hotel because I think a lot of people would book into your hotel as a spa weekend. Hope that our comments are helpful. Thanks Aileen Redmond & Jacci Connaughton
 
 
 
 
 

by Alan on Aug 5 2016 18:36

A lovely hotel with friendly staff.
 
 
 
 
 

by Louise on Aug 3 2016 08:48

Myself and my husband stayed with our children for an overnight recently. We had a fabulous time, the room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pool and leisure club were excellent. We ate in the bar, the food took a bit longer than we would have liked (it was very busy), but it was cooked fresh and tasted fantastic. We would definitely be back.
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice Reviews and LouderYou Ireland