Reviews

Read Reviews (161)
(
4.50/5
) based on
161
reviews.

by Catherine hegarty on Jul 23 2017 15:07

Very family friendly hotel, with great pool for kids and adults. The staff were very helpful and friendly and had a good knowledge of the area. A very centrally located hotel for great tourist attractions in the area, most only 30 minute drive. Food in the bar and restaurant was very good. The only thing I can think of that would tick all boxes is a spa on site for facials or massage. Will definitely return and recommend to others.
 
 
 
 
 

by Dayna on Jul 19 2017 08:23

First time to stay here, no complaints, all staff were friendly and polite, hotel was just amazing absolutely fabulous the way they've done it up, food was unbelievable and our room was very spacious and beds were so comfortable everything about our stay was prefect and I can't wait to go again one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, in Ireland without a doubt
 
 
 
 
 

by Kate and Bill McIlveen on Jul 18 2017 17:29

Thank you .... we thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful . We could not fault anything and will recommend you to friends and family. Hopefully we will stay with you again or one of your sister hotels Thanks you again Robert Kate and Caidan McIlveen
 
 
 
 
 

by Eileen on Jul 15 2017 09:40

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, Will be back again!!
 
 
 
 
 

by Kevin on Jul 14 2017 08:52

Our family of 5 stayed here on a 2 night summer activities package and it was a brilliant experience.The hotel has been beautifully renovated the food is super the leisure center is top class and the staff are very helpful and pleasent.We have stayed there before and will most definatly be staying again,Kevin,Waterford.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ken McMamee on Jul 13 2017 19:20

Had a lovely stay. The staff were very helpfull and pleasant. Would stay here again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Rhona on Jul 8 2017 14:06

Cant fault this hotel. Great to stay with kids. Really made us feel welcome from the first second. Will definitely be back again. Colette on the front desk was lovely as were any of the staff we spoke to over the 3 days.
 
 
 
 
 

by Stephen on Jul 7 2017 10:30

Fabulous room, we stayed in a suite, fantastic value for money. All staff that we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and fresh. We had dinner in the steakhouse which was excellent. We would definitely return.
 
 
 
 
 

by Adrian doyle on Jul 4 2017 23:15

We had the most wonderful experience from start to finish. I had asked for an upgrade prior to arriving and was told it was not possible due to a wedding. However, upon check in we were informed we were being upgraded. This was wonderful as I had requested it as an extra treat for my partner who had just finished some tough exams. The staff were excellent and very helpful and friendly. There was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel and the new decor is fab. The food is fab too both in the bar and for breakfast. Overall we can't fault our experience and we will return in the future. The managers we came across were also excellent and so friendly. The personal touch really makes a difference and I will be recommending the hotel to friends. Thanks you! Adrian Doyle and Patrick Whelan
 
 
 
 
 

by Mark on Jul 3 2017 21:53

My wife and I had a brilliant time on our one night stay.my wife loved the bottle of presseco and chocs.we are coming back in August with our 2 kids as we heard the kids club is great. we loved the new look hotel.thanks for a great stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Yvonne Reddin on Jul 2 2017 11:05

We found our stay very enjoyable,. Hotel is fantastic the staff are all very nice and helpful, our room was spotless looking forward to going back in the future.
 
 
 
 
 

by Maddey on Jun 29 2017 00:07

We have stayed a the hotel on many occasions as we visit family regularly in Port Laois. It is our number one choice of hotels and have stayed there both before and after the renovation. The renovation has transformed the hotel and we have had the pleasure of staying in the private suites. The food is really goo value for money and Kelly's is exceptional. The staff in the hotel and restaurant have thankfully not changed and they are the most amazing team of people who can never do enough for you. I would like to give a special mention to Joyce, Eugene and Collette and also say thank you as you always soften the blow as our visits have not always been happy ones. There is no limitations as to how you help and always give us an enjoyable visit. Thank you Thank you Thank you. See you soon The Gilligan's
 
 
 
 
 

by Helena on Jun 25 2017 12:40

We had an amazing overnight stay on the 23rd June everything about it was perfect , the hotel is absolutely spotless , staff are friendly and the pool area is amazing ..and the restraunt is lovley with fantastic friendly staff who could not do enough for us and our 3 small kids .. Such an enjoyable stay we cannot wait to get back
 
 
 
 
 

by Bernadette Connaughton on Jun 24 2017 09:29

We stayed in this amazing hotel a few days ago for our wedding anniversary. The decor was just gorgeous very nicely done all the staff were very friendly and courteous. The hotel pool was huge and just what was needed from our recent hot spell of weather. Highly recommend Kelly,s steakhouse really nice food. Will be recommending this hotel to all my friends and family and not far from Dublin.
 
 
 
 
 

by Paul Hyland on Jun 21 2017 09:34

Our family of six stayed in the Midlands Park Hotel in June 2017. We got a great deal and had a fantastic time. Everything was spotlessly clean and the rooms were lovely. In particular every member of the staff, from reception to restaurant to the lesiure centre, were very polite and engaging. I'd have no difficulty recommending the Midlands Park.
 
 
 
 
 

by Michael Grimes on Jun 21 2017 07:56

The most improved hotel in Ireland,. It now ranks amongst the best including five star. Staff are friendly, rooms have everything one could want and in terms of value for money it has no equal. The pool and leisure facilities rank amongst the best in Ireland. I highly recommend it.
 
 
 
 
 

by Alison on Jun 15 2017 20:42

My mother and I travelled to visit her home town and visit friends and family. We had a lovely stay at the Midland Park. All staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was clean, comfortable and with ample space. The Midland Park is central to Portlaoise so everywhere was just a short walk away - great for popping to see our friends and family in the area. The hotel was having refurbishment during our stay but this did not affect the enjoyment of our time there. It was great to pop to the leisure facility for a swim and use the steam room. The breakfast was very tasty, well presented and good value. All in all, we will stay here again and look forward to our next visit. Thank you
 
 
 
 
 

by Bridget O Brien on Jun 9 2017 07:21

Stayed here for two nights as a package deal with my husband and two kids.. from the moment we walked in we were so welcomed especially by the desk staff Colette .. she was so helpful and so nice to my eldest girl chatting and been so nice.. the room was spacious comfortable and clean.. the dining was amazing and the amenities were super.. will definitely return again .
 
 
 
 
 

by Damien Ryan on May 29 2017 07:47

A very enjoyable stay and we will return to the Midlands Park in the future . Very helpful staff , great atmosphere in the bar and very good food .
 
 
 
 
 

by Caroline on May 27 2017 08:33

Stayed here for a wedding. Hotel is out of this world. 5 star plus luxary. The room was so comfortable. The food was incrediable and the portion size was huge.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ann Spain on May 23 2017 10:13

My Sisters and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from beginning to end. All the staff were just amazing so friendly, polite and attentive. The food in the Restaurant was just delicious . I will be highly recommending this hotel and its staff and would definitely return.. The location of the hotel was also a plus. Best wishes to you all and thanks for such a lovely stay.
 
 
 
 
 

by Renato Lopes on May 2 2017 15:16

We had a very good time at the hotel, thanks for everything.
 
 
 
 
 

by john berry on May 1 2017 12:10

Brilliant hotel
 
 
 
 
 

by Mary mcloughlin on Apr 29 2017 10:33

Good breakfast, appreciated having an Americanism coffee. Fruit selection excellent. Room is a bit dated decor wise but lobby is lovely so I presume upgrade for rooms coming. Very nice staff, good location and parking overnight very cheap
 
 
 
 
 

by Audrey on Apr 24 2017 07:15

Fabulous Hotel.Really friendly staff ,from the girls on reception, the staff in the restaurant and bar,all so helpful and nice. We had food both nights in the restaurant and the quality was exceptional. Can highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be coming back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ellie on Apr 23 2017 18:03

Guys, you didn't understand the circumstances of us booking a two night escape with our three little but every single person was so kind to us it was like you knew. We are so thankful for everyone's smiles and kindness and help from arriving early to the pool to just every moment. Thank you. Please tell your staff they really blessed us. It was so good for our weary souls
 
 
 
 
 

by Kelly on Apr 20 2017 08:18

Lovely hotel....staff very pleasant.....was accompanied on the trip by my 5 year old daughter who loved the kiddies club! Ate in the bar....good food but expensive for "bar food". Its a pity the hotel doesn't have a car park. Overall enjoyed the trip!
 
 
 
 
 

by Tanya Rooney on Apr 19 2017 11:48

We recently stayed at the hotel in the presidential suite, which was top class, was an experience.. From check in until departure we could not have faulted a thing. Food in Kellys Steakhouse was also superb as well as the breakfast. Will deffo be making a return to the hotel. Tanya
 
 
 
 
 

by reviewer32761623 on Apr 18 2017 07:17

We just had a wonderful 4 night stay in the Portloaise Heritage hotel. The staff were all amazing throughout our stay & we were very impressed with all the renovations throughout the hotel. We mostly ate at the hotel too & each meal was delicious including breakfast which is served to your table so a nice little treat. Keep up the good work we will definitely return.
 
 
 
 
 

by Agnes Kenny on Apr 17 2017 10:23

Had a brilliant stay, all the staff were so helpful from Stacey in reception to the bar/ service staff and the restaraunt manager and his staff couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely be back.
 
 
 
 
 

by Martin on Apr 16 2017 08:08

We stayed for the Easter break on a family package. Our initial room was a little bit basic and the toilet leaked. We spoke to the cleaning department and we were moved to the 1st floor with adjoining rooms which were refurbished and excellent. The restaurant meal was good and the breakfast is first class. We used the pool daily and enjoyed the local pubs in Portlaoise. The staff are very engaging and efficient. We stayed here because of the excellent accessibility to the Irish rail network. In 4 days we visited Dublin, Limerick and Cork. I would thoroughly recommend the HEritage Hotel for family breaks.
 
 
 
 
 

by Stephen Callaghan on Apr 15 2017 11:57

Fantastic hotel with beautiful staff Have to give a big mention to Collete in reception who was most helpful and very friendly Will definitely be returning Also a big thank you to michaella and Sophie for looking after the kids brilliantly in the kids club
 
 
 
 
 

by Curtis on Apr 10 2017 09:14

extremely courteous staff, front desk to lounge. Nice menu selection of food and cocktails. Room was above parr.
 
 
 
 
 

by Catherine on Apr 8 2017 22:31

Thank you for my stay which we found very enjoyable. Rooms nice size & spotless. Staff very friendly & efficient. Service was great. I will be back again as it was not my first time to stay & wont be my last. Keep up the good work.
 
 
 
 
 

by jackie on Apr 3 2017 09:39

Everything was perfect from start to finish..would find it hard to fault it in any way
 
 
 
 
 

by Sue Newth-Gibbs on Mar 31 2017 09:58

Our first visit since refurbishment and we really enjoyed it. Restaurant and bar area very welcoming and staff excellent as usual.
 
 
 
 
 

by anthony on Mar 25 2017 15:50

Great time at the Heritage rooms were great pool and faciltes excellent . bar is great addition to the hotel check in staff very frendly and helpfull the whole hotel is totally revamped . will stay again when in portloaise
 
 
 
 
 

by Martin Russell on Mar 22 2017 19:52

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Laois. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a very welcoming atmosphere from the moment we arrived, the receptionist, Collette, was fantastic at her job, very professional. But also very friendly and bubbly. The restaurant and food was lovely. We will definitely return in the future.
 
 
 
 
 

by Aaron Grehan on Mar 21 2017 11:43

Me and my mam had a brilliant stay in the hotel for 2 nights. The staff were brilliant. The food was delicious. 10/10 for the stay. Will be back soon.
 
 
 
 
 

by sharon byrne on Mar 21 2017 08:07

i have to say first the girls on the front desk were great and friendly as i had a problem when booking on line these girls sorted it. the rooms are fab and clean and i can say enough about the food sooo good especially the full irish breakfast . this hotel has the nicest staff i have every seen . thank you for a lovely stay
 
 
 
 
 

by Catherine Axtell on Mar 20 2017 19:19

Great place to stay , perhaps a games room for bored teenagers please
 
 
 
 
 

by John agnew on Mar 20 2017 15:27

We arrived a little before check in time and luckily our room was ready to rock . We didn't avail of the restaurant for food due to us meeting friends for a party in the town . Our nights sleep was very good not a peep from any noise around . Breakfast was 10 / 10 as well we got it sent to the room and had everything we had asked for and piping hot . We did avail of the swimming pool as well and found it perfect temp with not much corlein in the pool either !! All in all an amazing nights stay and will be back !
 
 
 
 
 

by Siobhan on Mar 19 2017 08:39

Lovely stay. Helpful staff. Really enjoyable 5 Star rating
 
 
 
 
 

by Trisha on Feb 22 2017 20:41

Stayed for the weekend with 5 friends in this beautiful hotel. The hotel is in a great location. We had two triple rooms which were very spacious and great value..The staff are all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and we also had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was very reasonable and the food was delicious. Will definitely be returning and have already started to recommend to family and friends.
 
 
 
 
 

by Sinead on Feb 21 2017 19:44

Just back from a weekend away at The Hertiage Portlaois and it was fabulous. Hotel is in the centre of everything,lovely and spotlessly clean and bedrooms are so comfortable. Most of all the staff where so friendly and helpful. Definitely will be back
 
 
 
 
 

by John Curtin on Feb 18 2017 16:42

Lovely Hotel and Experience. Brilliant restaurant across the road. Would be wonderful(essential) if parking was included even for one night. Customers might not even mind a little extra cost if built in to overall rate. We chose to go because of special offer of €75 but would have done so also for €79! Best Wishes John and Emily Curtin Limerick.
 
 
 
 
 

by Ursula o Donnell on Feb 9 2017 06:35

Have stayed here a good few times keep going back because of the excellent service and value for money .the staff are so friendly and helpful .food and accomadition top class
 
 
 
 
 

by Cardiff on Jan 5 2017 11:33

I booked and overnight in the hotel for the 28th December 2016. There were six of us and I had bought ours as part of a Christmas gift for my boyfriend who was over from Wales for the Holidays. I was so disappointed on arrival to realise the hotel was under renovation. I would never have booked it had a known this in advance.There was no mention of this on your website nor when I rang to upgrade my room to a suite. The hotel itself is beautiful and the food is fantastic it was such a shame we had to leave the hotel for entertainment. It was also under staffed and while the staff who were there were lovely there was excessive waiting times at the bar for both food and drink. We actually had to leave the hotel on arrival to go for something to eat as there were no free tables in the small area the food was being served. Having said all this our overall stay was pleasant and I have no doubt that when the renovations are complete it will be a great place to stay. Regards Linda
 
 
 
 
 

by Patricia on Dec 19 2016 17:59

Lovely hotel in a central location. Staff were professional and very friendly. Good facilities - nice pool and gym. The restaurant menu was limited but what we got was very nice. We tried to get into the SteakHouse Restaurant but it was fully booked. The hotel is being renovated at the moment. We stayed in a renovated room - which was very nice. The renovation work disturbed our morning (8.30am) with extremely loud drilling in what seemed like the room next door. Management were very apologetic and compensated us for the inconvenience. We were attending an event there and would definitely return again.
 
 
 
 
 

by Michael Gorman on Dec 17 2016 13:37

Second time to stay there in the last year and everything is excellent from the staff to the rooms and the overall experience..
 
 
 
 
 
Powered by LouderVoice Reviews and LouderYou Ireland